The history of our house
Noblesse oblige — Hotel Anna Amalia lives up to its noble patron.
By calling to court Christoph Martin Wieland as the tutor to the Prince in 1772, and the assembly of the so-called “Round Table” in the Wittumspalais in 1776, Anna Amalia Duchess of Saxe-Weimar-Eisenach (1739 – 1807) initiated the classic period in Weimar.
The hotel consists of three connected buildings in the Geleitstraße—the main building with its archway and two adjoining buildings. Just behind the Erfurter Tor (“Gate to Erfurt”), which was torn down in the early 19th century, the Geleitstraße leads as one of four main roads to the parish church.
In 1775 Goethe first travelled down this road when arriving from Erfurt, to take up first residence at the church square. The garden of Duchess Anna Amalia spread from her residence, the Wittumspalais, left and right of the now removed town wall; almost reaching the hotel.
The main building was erected in 1792, thus before the removal of the adjacent Erfurter Tor and after the arrival of Goethes. In 1880 the Hotel Cheminus was established in the main building No. 12, in which 1912 the authors Franz Kafka and Max Brod roomed together.
Houce No. 10 was inhabited by the composer Peter Cornelius (1824 – 1874), who had been among Franz Liszt’s circle of friends since 1852. In 1858 his opera “The Barber of Baghdad”—one of the best German comic operas—fell victim to a collusion between theatres, targeting Liszt.
With its renovation in 2002, Hotel Anna Amalia devoted its heart to the many guests of the city.
Explore the city from its centre, sample its plentiful histories unfold, and enjoy the abundance of personalities which worked and lived here—Lucas Cranach, Johann Sebastian Bach, Goethe and Schiller, Herder and Wieland, Anna Amalia und Carl August, Liszt and Cornelius, Henry van der Velde and Walter Gropius, and many more.